Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting



Newest Entry
Older Entries
E-mail me
DiaryLand
My profile

SLEEP TRAINING BEGINS

2005-04-02 - 9:43 p.m.

previous - next

Tonight is THE NIGHT. Nathan is asleep in his own crib in his own room. We begin our sleep training tonight. I must admit that I am going to really miss being right next to my little snuggle puppy, but our current sleep situation is hindering our family's joy and peace. Nathan is 4 months 2weeks old and way too dependent on me for his sleep. I know this is going to be a difficult journey, but I am determined to help him learn to go to sleep and stay asleep in his own crib without making him 'cry it out'. I believe I will be a better mother to him in the daytime if I am rested. I mean its not like I am asking to be WELL rested, just rested. He needs to be WELL rested though and he just is not right now. I adore napping with him and feel right now that by doing so, that is the only way that he'll sleep longer than his 45 minute stretch. I am concerned about that quite a bit right now. I suppose several 45 minute stretches throughout the day may be enough, I just don't know.

James and I went to Cracker Barrel for dinner. In my mind I fretted, not knowing what to expect from Nathan - whether he would reject the idea, or demand to be nursed right when our food came, etc. I never know with him. It was like 6:45pm - so close to his bedtime and I hadn't even given him his bath or anything, but we set out anyway. James ended up walking around with him lying in his arms till he was asleep while we waited for our table. James is so down to earth. He loves to go and do, come what may, I am the opposite. I just have control issues I guess. Anyway, Nathan slept through dinner and awoke happy as a clam when our check came. I took him out of his carrier, gave him to his daddy and my little boy stared at me forever. There were plenty of other people and things to stare at, but he chose me. I just love him.

So bedtime has changed. I think 7pm is too early for him because he does pretty good till midnight. He may only wake 4-5 times till midnight, then all HELL breaks loose and he wakes like every 45 minutes and thinks it is time to get up for 1hr at 3am and then again at 5am etc. I don't go to bed till 10pm-11pm and then I have to deal with him all night. So, 8 or 8:30pm seems like it may be better. I am going to get this boy on a schedule period

Well, it is 10pm. I am going to bed.
previous - next



Sign My Guestbook


Leave me a note!


Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 2nd Birthday Ticker
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting