Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting



Newest Entry
Older Entries
E-mail me
DiaryLand
My profile

Naps and breaks and breast milk

2005-04-06 - 12:10 p.m.

previous - next

Nathan has been asleep for exactly 41 minutes. He should be waking any second and I hope to be able to nurse him back to sleep. If he won't allow that, I will try picking him up and walking around in our 'sleeper hold'. It involves keeping him side lying on our forearm with his arms lightly restrained (so he doesn't rub all over his face and wake himself up even more) and an arm inbetween his legs. Kind of hard to describe, but it works when he refuses to sleep after being nursed. 45 minutes and counting.

Thank you Meagan for your suggestions. I usually cannot get him in his swing properly before he really starts to lose it. He'll stay in it for about 5-10 minutes IF he is in a good mood. BUT, when he is tired, as soon as he feels his body touch the floor, bed, couch, swing, bouncy seat, exersaucer, anything other than my arms, he starts to fuss and will not let up until he is picked up and comforted. Most literature I read about sleep suggests that the babies will sleep better if they are put down semi awake. I try, but am unsuccessful. I will keep on trying though. 51 minutes and counting. GO NATHAN!!

Last night was better overall but I did not get to sleep till a little after midnight. I did bring Nathan down to sleep the rest of the night with me. It is just so hard to try to get him back in his crib. I am so tired already and having to wake several times during the night is difficult enough, but actually having to get up, comfort him and try several times to get him in his crib just seems too challenging at the moment. As soon as this bout of insomnia is in the past, I will be better rested and fired up to try again. I will just proclaim it right now - This bout of insomnia IS OVER. 57 minutes and counting.

Lets see - I mowed the lawn this morning while James took care of Nathan. I don't like the TV being on all the time when James takes care of him though. I have told him that too. Oh Well, I guess I should be grateful for the break. Speaking of 'breaks' from Nathan. I just adore being with him all day and night you know. He is my cute little companion of course, but I really would enjoy him more if he were a little happier on his own at times. Its not like I leave the room. I would love just to have him watch me straighten up, sort, wash, fold clothes etc. But he tends to feel that He is my sole responsibility. So, after giving him all I have all the time, I feel like I do need a break. A small group meeting one night a week sounds so nice. I will have to check into that. We are going to start visiting churches really soon. I want to find one with lots of Worship music before the message. That is non negotiable. 1 hour and 4 minutes. I should be sleeping right now.

So that is what I will go do. But first, Megan - I know what you mean about the formula and digestion. I cannot imaging how painful it was for you to not be able to continue nursing Alex. From everything I have read about that subject in your diary - it was a real loss for you..... I am so sorry. I know that Nathan would probably sleep better with formula but I am willing to sacrifice my sleep in order to continue with breast milk only. I may cave though about some rice cereal mixed with my milk though. I will talk to the doctor first though. Ok. Now I will take a little rest with my little love.
previous - next



Sign My Guestbook


Leave me a note!


Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 2nd Birthday Ticker
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting