Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting



Newest Entry
Older Entries
E-mail me
DiaryLand
My profile

Late night for Nathan, AGAIN. Sleep update

2005-04-13 - 10:26 p.m.

previous - next

It seems that the only real time I have to unwind and make an entry is going to be in the evenings - when I should be asleep. Nathan just needs too much help staying asleep for his daytime naps to update then. I don't sleep well during those naps because I am 100% "on guard" ready to whip a breast out to nurse him back to sleep, or pat his little back back to sleep, or turn him to his other side, etc. I have also found that if I lay him on me and pat his back he will go back to sleep too. I can usually get him back to sleep 75% of the time now after he wakes from his initial 45 minute snooze. So he has been napping twice a day now.

Night time has been going OK. He is still starting out in his crib. It used to be that he would have to be just about asleep when I put him in his crib and I would still have to pick him up and get him sleepy over and over till he would finally just conk out. Now I am putting him in there after he nurses. And I am trying to refrain from picking him up too much. I had to pick him up only twice tonight. He was sooooo sleepy but so determined to make it clear that he was not happy about being in his crib. James and I and of course Nathan went out to dinner and we did not get back home till 9pm. I gave him a quick bath and ended up starting putting him down at 9:30. TOO LATE. Anyway, to get him to sleep in his crib,I lean over the rail, bend down so it is like I am in there with him and pat, pat, pat for ages till my back feels like it is going to snap then luckily he is usually asleep. It's hard work. BUT he is gradually getting the picture, I think. So, he starts out in his crib and after he wakes for another nursing session I put him back in his crib but the next time he wakes, I leave him on the mattress with me. I need to start putting him back in the crib then too, but he doesn't sleep well at all from about 3am - 6am. He tosses and turns the entire rest of the night and I don't think he would last in his crib, but I won't know till I try. After my trip I will start up again with a new determination. I would like to be back in my own room with my husband by the time Nathan is 6months old. May 18th. We'll see.

I was able to work in the kitchen some this afternoon with Nathan in a reclining seat that attaches to a chair. He watched me clean out the dishwasher, load the dishwasher, wipe the counters, freeze some chicken, clean the sink, sweep the floor AND MOP. I hate to say it had been quite awhile since my kitchen floor has seen a mop. I love a clean shiny floor. Always have.

Well, I am going to bed after I visit with my hubby for a few minutes on the couch.
previous - next



Sign My Guestbook


Leave me a note!


Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 2nd Birthday Ticker
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting