Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting



Newest Entry
Older Entries
E-mail me
DiaryLand
My profile

Mom pic

2005-05-07 - 1:47 p.m.

previous - next

Nathan and I just got back from visiting my sister and her family. A few minutes before we left to go home, Nathan fell asleep on my sister's lap with his thumb in his mouth. That was the first time. I do hope that he doesn't start sucking his thumb for several reasons but I am not in the mood to talk about it. I am kind of tired and restless at the moment. James is playing with Nathan and although there are a zillion things I could be doing in the house I just don't feel like doing anything. I am so used to taking care of him that when I not, I feel out of sorts. I know I should be enjoying this "free" time but I just don't know.

So, lets see...Nathan is sitting up pretty good by himself. He balances himself fairly well as he plays with toys on his lap, but he falls over when he reaches for the toys as they wander out of his lap. He is so funny. I used to catch him in midfall, but now I just let him roll down, he doesn't seem to mind and just picks back up where he left off as if nothing has happened. He is reaching for EVERYTHING. When I have him facing forward in a carrier he grabs at whatever he sees. He grabs for my glass as I bring it up to drink, my food as I bring it to my mouth. He is starting to get mad too. Once he does, he throws his head back in rebellion. He is twisting and turning during diaper changes, fighting sleep. I guess he is just growing up. He is starting to realize he has some control over his situations. James and I both agree that we do not want Nathan to grow up thinking he is boss. We are his bosses and he needs to know it, but I don't know exactly when we will start revealing this to him. He is not going to like it one little bit, I know that for sure.

My house is a wreck. It looked soooo good when we got back from out trip, now it looks as though someone ranshacked it. I don't want to talk about that either.

It is a nice day outside. I should be out there watering my flowers I planted in the front yard and the one tomato plant in the backyard, but.....

Maybe I will go see what Nathan and James are doing. Maybe we should go somewhere.

I told my sister, Karen, about this diary and put it on her favorites list. So Karen, if you are reading this, Hi. Karen sent our mother flowers and a card for mothers' day. I did neither. I feel bad and wish I had not put it off. My mother is extremely great. She is patient, kind, generous, smart and loving. She is very helpful and a wonderful grandmother, mother and wife. She keeps in close contact with her parents and goes to visit them in NC on a regular basis. I have never met a better person and I really mean that. She is full of joy and shares that joy with others. Her favorite motto is "Life is Good..." She takes things in stride, worries too much but has a heart of gold. I love my mom and feel rotten for not at least sending a card. Maybe that is why I am in a foul mood - I am angry at myself. If I didn't have a baby, I would drive to Atlanta right now in order to be with her tomorrow.

So, depressed, I will end with a picture of my lovely mother. Happy Mothers Day tomorrow to all you wonderful mothers out there!!
previous - next



Sign My Guestbook


Leave me a note!


Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 2nd Birthday Ticker
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting