Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting



Newest Entry
Older Entries
E-mail me
DiaryLand
My profile

Visit with Megan and Alex

2005-07-06 - 5:36 p.m.

previous - next

Nathan had his first real (play) DATE with a lovely young lady named Alex. Yay! Nathan and I went to visit Megan and Alex at their house for lunch yesterday and we had a WONDERFUL time! It just so happens that Megan lives only about 40 minutes away from my parents. How lucky am I?

Nathan and I left my parent�s house about 9:45 yesterday morning to go see Megan and Alex. Nathan napped in the car on the way. We got there in a flash � his nap ended just 35 minutes later, abruptly by ambulance sirens, about 5 minutes from Megan�s. I WAS planning on driving around for awhile while he continued to nap in the van. OH WELL!

I was more than a bit nervous as I gently knocked on the door (I had a feeling Alex would definitely be sleeping still), but the moment I saw Megan through the window, any and all apprehensions I had felt just vanished into thin air. Once she opened the door, it was like we already knew each other. We did really � know each other, that is. It was easy for me to tell that Nathan liked what he saw when he looked at Megan - he smiled at her pretty face right away.

Megan led us into a beautiful, wide open family room with SUPER HIGH ceilings. The kitchen is right off this room and almost part of this room. Her home is just lovely. I just wish I had asked for a COMPLETE tour of all the rooms. We three sat on the floor together. Nathan played with Alex�s toys, Megan and I talked. And talked, and talked. The time flew by. Nathan was happy playing with us for awhile, but I could tell his anticipation of meeting Alex was building. Megan went to get the princess while I straightened Nathan�s clothing and fixed his hair. He was in Awe as he looked up at the top of the staircase to find Miss Alex staring down at him. A last minute breath check and then poof � SHE APPEARED � and even more lovely than the pictures suggest.

These little ones were really fascinated with each other. Nathan was quite enthralled with Alex�s pretty little ears. Alex seemed to enjoy putting her fingers in Nathan�s mouth. Nathan wanted to run his fingers through Alex�s hair. Alex wanted to stroke Nathan�s face. Nathan wanted Alex in his lap (this was evident when he pulled her down not once but twice). Alex shared toys with Nathan, and Nathan shared toys with Alex. It was love at first sight � I�m sure of it.

Megan cooked kabobs while the little love birds played in the living room. I chaperoned.

Lunch was SO YUMMY! Fresh watermelon and Georgia peaches served in elegant Martini glasses, Chicken kabobs with veggies AND pasta salad with yummy Greek olives and feta cheese. We actually got to enjoy our lunch because Alex and Nathan ate their meals while we ate our fruit. Alex fed herself pasta and sweet potato chunks while I shoveled sweet potatoes into Nathan. Nathan started getting a little rash around his mouth � his skin is SO sensitive and I wasn�t worried about it at all, at first. The rash turned out to be hives. I stopped feeding him the sweet potatoes (which we had thinned down with some of Alex�s formula). I fed him an entire tub of pineapple/pears also. He ate great! He started scratching his chin, Megan and I talked about putting some hydrocortisone cream on it after lunch. Well then, Nathan started crying. I went to take him out of the highchair but before I could, he started vomiting with a vengeance. He wasn�t too happy about that. It was a first. Megan went to get a towel, I took his bib down and was about to get him out of the highchair when he vomited again. I didn�t know his tummy could hold that much food. You really don�t think about how much they have eaten until you see it come back up. Anyway, after he upchucked everything in his system, he was happy as a clam. His rash/hives were 100% GONE after he threw up. Isn�t the human body amazing? I nursed him after that for a few minutes before putting him down on the floor to play with Alex while Megan and I ate our lunch.

I think Alex gave him a kiss on the face while Megan and I ate - I saw it out of the corner of my eye. She saw what had come out of his mouth and opted not to kiss him on the lips because of it.

The time flew by during our visit and before I knew it, it was time for us to go (Atlanta traffic). We are already making plans to get together again soon. I think we are going to go to the ZOO next time. I have really wanted to take Nathan to the zoo (another first when we go), but I had no one to go with!

Megan and I have lots in common. Other than the obvious like we are both first time mommies in our thirties, have babies a month apart and live in the south, we are both Christians, we both wear a size 7 shoe (I know this because Alex tried to eat her mama�s shoe while Megan was in the kitchen � I saved the shoe from Alex�s toofies), we both are the �baby� of the family with one sister who is not quite four years older than we are), we both LOVE salt, love food, adore our husbands and are content as clams to be honored with the responsibility of staying at home to raise our children.

I will end with a few pictures, of course! These are some of my favorites!




previous - next



Sign My Guestbook


Leave me a note!


Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 2nd Birthday Ticker
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting