Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting



Newest Entry
Older Entries
E-mail me
DiaryLand
My profile

September 08

2008-09-29 - 3:19 p.m.

previous - next

My beloved grandmother, Honey, died on the first of September, Labor Day. It was a fitting day for her to pass because she had labored with her breathing for years and years. She was one those rare cases that you hear about - she had small cell lung cancer but never smoked a day in her life. Her lung capacity was less than one third of normal. She fought a long hard battle and decided on her own that she couldn't do it anymore. She made all the hard decisions about her care while she could and we didn't have to guess about anything. I am so thankful that I was one of the ones by her side when she died. The experience of being with my grandmothers, Honey and Marylou, during their last days has given me a desire to go into Hospice Nursing once my kids start school. Here is a picture of Honey with me and my mom, Nathan and Ava last year. She looked and felt great when she was here. She had not found out about the lung cancer at that time. Once she found out she decided to try to fight it. She went through two rounds of chemo and although it shrunk the tumor, it annihilated her immune system. She came down with a terrible infection in her lungs that left her barely breathing and unable to do anymore than that. She was a warrior and I will think of her when I need strength during hard times. Photobucket I will miss her so much - but it comforts me to know she is no longer suffering.

Summer is over I suppose but we are still enjoying the beach. James and I love this time of year because the crowds are gone and the weather is just perfect!

Nathan spent LOTS of time in the ocean with his kickboard. This boy needs to put some meat on his frame though - he was chattering from head to toe after his swim. A great excuse to wrap him up in a towel and hold him close.

Here are two pictures from our afternoon yesterday.

Photobucket

Photobucket
previous - next



Sign My Guestbook


Leave me a note!


Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 2nd Birthday Ticker
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting