Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting



Newest Entry
Older Entries
E-mail me
DiaryLand
My profile

32 with a clean house and a pretty tree

2006-12-10 - 5:25 p.m.

previous - next

James and Nathan are on their way back home from picking up a fridge for the garage. James' cousin, Jeff, recently purchased all new appliances and asked us if we wanted their old fridge. We'll make a home for it in the garage and keep soft drinks, frozen food and whatever else in it that won't fit in the inside fride.

Today is my 32nd birthday. Last night I was trying to think about what I really wanted for my birthday and only one thing popped in my head: A nice, clean house! I told James want I wanted and we spent all day cleaning! I've teetered down and am slacking off a bit right now (allowed, I think, on my birthday), but the house really looks good. It is almost ready for guests - but no guests are coming. I can't remember when the last time I cleaned the house without really 'having to' for company. It feels damn good.

We got our tree yesterday. It took us all morning to find 'it'. We went to a Christmas tree farm where you cut your own down (the only one in Pensacola), but all the trees were too small. Then we went to a tree lot where they wanted like 85 bucks for a tree the size we needed. We ended up at Home Depot - Nathan running around and Ava needing to be fed. It was a bit stressful but I was wanting to go ahead and get something - its' tough getting out of the house with a toddler and an infant... This couple and their two girls were trying to decide between two trees. Once they chose one, we swooped in and snatched their second choice tree. We liked this tree better anyway. SO there you go. Let OTHERS do the work for you. The lady of the family spent quite awhile fluffing and beautifying our tree.

It took me hours to put the lights on. James refuses to do it because he knows how I get. I like there to be lots of lights. Some white, some colored. Some blinking, some not. Some deep, some superficial. I like there to be lights everywhere you look, colored and white. I like blinking to take place everywhere but lots of solid, non blinking lights everywhere too. I think I have about 15-20 strands of lights on the tree. We really don't need lights in that room at night....

There are not many 'things' that calm me in life, but gazing at a Christmas tree is one of them. I can get lost looking into it.

I've decided to send a few Christmas cards out this year. I need to work on that tonight, I think.

My parents are due in town tomorrow. They will be staying with my sister the entire time they are here - 3 nights. I understand though - they haven't seen their newest and smallest granddaughter yet! I AM going to be there when they arrive, though. I can't wait to see my little niece Katie her melt into my mother and father's loving arms. I get to get MY hands on little miss Katie as soon as I get there in the morning!

I am breathing in my clean surroundings. I love it, love it, love it!!! I feel such peace, joy and contentment when things are tucked in their places and surfaces are sparkling and bare. I must, must, must keep it up this time. Maybe I will too, since I cleaned it for me this time. Noone but me.

I AM wiped out. But it feels SOOOOO good.

I will close this entry with a picture of my beautiful tree - this view is right from where I sit in the study.

And NO, you can't have too many lights..... Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
previous - next



Sign My Guestbook


Leave me a note!


Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 2nd Birthday Ticker
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting